Hello, World!

 

Some recent stuff, written by others - about us.

 

APK SANTA MONICA

Instagram

and what YELP doesn't want you to see for some reason…. (including another bunch of five star reviews)

 

 

APK2 REVIEWS


Reviews are starting to come in for APK2. 

Please add your on YELP or be first to review on Trip Advisor

Thanks!

http://la.eater.com/2015/11/16/9746526/aussie-pie-kitchen-lax-apk2

Dubbed APK2, the signature stacked pies from Santa Monica are now also in South LA.

The famous hand pies of Australia (and Santa Monica) have landed closer to LAX with Aussie Pie Kitchen's second location in Inglewood, so those looking for a taste of those buttery flaky crusts stacked on mashed potatoes and peas can look forward to a heaping helping of comfort food right on the way to the airport.

For those unfamiliar with the process, Aussie Pie Kitchen takes savory pies like the ground beef and mire poix "Classic" or the chicken tarragon pie, and stacks them with a variety of sides including garlic mashed potatoes, minty mashed peas, and edamame succotash. The resulting cylinder is then topped with a creamy, thyme-adulterated gravy to create a uniquely savory comfort food experience.

Diners can look forward to a variety of brekkie (or breakfast) pies as well as pastries and a full coffee bar featuring Australian brand Vittoria coffees to stave off those after-lunch naps.

Aussie Pie Kitchen 2
11918 Aviation Blvd
Inglewood, CA 90304

All the Murdoch Press covered APK in this feature Nov 2015

A film about pies and APK thanks to Shane Willcox - an awesome realtor (or Estate Agent as the poms would say)

A film about pies and APK thanks to Shane Willcox - an awesome realtor (or Estate Agent as the poms would say)

FORGET THE BARBIE! Try the pie! 

Richard Foss is kind of amazing - he is an author, a lecturer, a journalist, and a food historian. He and some friends visited us recently and he wrote his thoughts @argonaut online. Take a minute to read about us or even better about him

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 10.13.57 AM.png
The "famous since 1870 Aussie Pie Floater" , available at Aussie Pie Kitchen in Main Street Santa Monica - every Friday & Saturday night from 7pm - till 230 am. NO HANGOVER GUARANTEE!

The "famous since 1870 Aussie Pie Floater" , available at Aussie Pie Kitchen in Main Street Santa Monica - every Friday & Saturday night from 7pm - till 230 am. NO HANGOVER GUARANTEE!

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 10.24.13 AM.png
Taylor in Via Vita
Watch Chef Joe crush it on Chopped - available on Netflix - Episode 19 - "Hoofin It"

Watch Chef Joe crush it on Chopped - available on Netflix - Episode 19 - "Hoofin It"

"Get Out!" got to visit some great Santa Monica businesses and attractions including APK, Aristeia Needlepoint, The Miles Memorial Playhouse and 34 degrees North Gym. Thanks to Justin and Jessica for swinging by, chatting to owner Nick Bishop - and Chef Joe Youkhan teaches Justin how to make our 3 day Aussie pies. 

 

An HONEST (Company) YELP REVIEW on our catering... We got a call at 1030 am on Monday 3/16/15, we delivered the food (80 breakfast pies) at 7:50 am on Tuesday and here's what happened....

I could not say better things about Aussie Pie Kitchen! We had them cater a large company breakfast and they made it nothing but EASY. Nick, the owner, was so personable and was truly a pleasure to work with. They were prompt with the early delivery time (which was much appreciated). The food was TO DIE FOR! It was a huge hit in the office - everyone was so happy with the brekkie pies! Nick and Geri were also thoughtful enough to bring us a lamington cake on the house for us to try! If you are looking for a reliable and delicious option to cater your event or just want a yummy meal I fully recommend APK!

Trip Advisor ranks APK 1/583 Santa Monica Restaurants...

As of March 3, 2015 we were delighted to see that we have raced to the top of the Trip Advisor scorecard. When customers write headlines like  "Epic Pies" . "Back for more", "Pie-licous" and "Aussie Pie Kitchen is Aus-some." you feel really proud. Thank you everyone who takes the time to come in and try our pies, sides and coffee - and then goes out of their way to review us. UPDATE : As of 3/18 we are now #2/581 on Trip Advisor - but still very chuffed to have been numero uno - and as Budget Rent a Car said famously "we're Number 2 - we try harder"

Lisa Ng's Blog "this beautiful day" tells you about her faves at APK .....

and according to Lisa  "is definitely worth a stop on your next visit to Santa Monica" 03/05/2014

"The 10 Best Things I consumed in 2014" 

The Consuming LA Blog honored APK by including our Chicken Tiger Stack in his 2014 Round up.  10. Tiger Stack with Chicken and Tarragon Pie from Aussie Pie Kitchen. Food wise, there are few things in this world more comforting than meat pies. Stack a chicken tarragon one on a mound of garlic mashed potatoes and top it with bacon-laced mushy minty peas and a ladleful of thyme gravy, and let the emotional healing begin!

The "skinny" on "The elevated Aussie Food Culture has a home on the Westside"

.... according to edibleskinny

KT (aka Kat Thomas and edibleskinny food blogger ) took ADO (that means Australia Day Off) to write this lovely detailed article about our food, our coffee, our vibe and ...well... us :-). Thanks KT from APK.

"Pot Pies to die for" 

according to LA Weekly in their post Xmas Review "The Tiger Stack starts with a generous portion of garlic mashed Yukon gold potatoes, then your pie, then minty mushy peas and finally cream gravy. The result resembles a glorious Thanksgiving meal with all the trimmings...."

"What Aussie Pie Kitchen has is truly special"

says Robert Penfold on the Australian Nine Network News Video Dec 2014   On National Australian TV the Nine network reported on the recent growth of pies availability in Los Angeles. From zero to 3 in 18 months. Nick talks about pie floaters and quality in this 4 minute video

Westside LA Video Dec 2014  

Nick Bishop and Joe Youkhan get deep on what makes for truly remarkable food, coffee and tastes at the Aussie Pie Kitchen.

"The Pies have it"  

Consuming LA Blog, 11/24/2014  Howard is one of LA's most respected food bloggers. He thoughtfully critiques all our food and compares us to one of the Hemsworth studs.

Santa Monica Mirror  

All business is local and Santa Monica Mirror interviews Geri and Nick“We wanted to make delicious and gourmet pies, instead of the stock standard Aussie meat pie.”

Local local - feed the locals!

LA Eater  -

LA Magazine  -  

LA Weekly

Yelp Reviews 

Facebook Reviews 

and lastly some pics from our lovely customers (click away), and here as well